Skip to Main Content

LIBRARY HOURS:

OCCUPANCY:

One Moment...

See Average Occupancy

Primary Sources: History--Africa

This is a work in progress, with new sites continually being added. You can help by e-mailing us links to collections of primary sources.

University of Wisconsin digital texts from and about Africa

University of Wisconsin Libraries. Africana Digitization Project: Full text of rare Africana, in English or translated into English. Titles include:

Almada, Andre Alvares de et. al.. Brief Treatise on the Rivers of Guinea; being an English translation of a variorum text of Tratado breve dos rios de Guiné (c.1594) organised by the late Avelino Teixeira da Mota, together with incomplete annotation; translation, a brief introduction and notes on chapters 13-19 by P.E.H. Hair, and notes on chapters 1-6 by Jean Boulègue. c. 1594. Part One and Part Two.
Authors: Almada, Andre Alvares d', fl. 1594. ; Mota, A. Teixeira da ; (Avelino Teixeira); Hair, P. E. H. ; (Paul Edward Hedley); Boulègue, Jean. [Liverpool] : Dept. of History, University of Liverpool, 1984. 2 vols. (Pt. 1. Translated text -- Pt. 2. Notes). (Privately produced and circulated by the late Paul Hair). Covers Guinea-Bissau, Cape Verde. Includes a bibliography. http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/Africana.Almada01; Alvares, Manuel. Ethiopia Minor and a Geographical Account of the Province of Sierra Leone (c. 1615)
Authors: Alvares, Manuel, 1526-1583. ; Mota, A. Teixeira da ; (Avelino Teixeira); Matos, Luís de. ; Hair, P. E. H. ; (Paul Edward Hedley). [Liverpool, England] : Dept. of History, University of Liverpool, 1990. 1 vol. (Privately produced and circulated by the late Paul Hair). http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/Africana.Alvares01

Barbot's West African Vocabularies of c. 1680
Author: Jean Barbot. Editor: P. E. H. Hair (Paul Edward Hedley). [Liverpool] : Centre of African Studies, University of Liverpool, 1992. 43 p. (Parallel text in French, English, Wolof, Fula, Twi and Ewe). (Privately produced and circulated by the late Paul Hair). http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/Africana.Hair01; Fage, J. D. A Guide to Original Sources for Precolonial Western Africa Published in European Languages : for the most part in book form.
Madison : African Studies Program, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1994. 200 p. http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/Africana.Fage01; Jesuit Documents on the Guinea of Cape Verde and the Cape Verde Islands, 1585-1617: : in English translation
Authors: A Teixeira da Mota; P E H Hair. [Liverpool?] : Issued by the Dept. of History, University of Li verpool, 1989. 1 vol. (various pagings). (Privately produced and circulated by the late Paul Hair.) http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/Africana.Jesuit01

Primary source collections about Africa

Internet African History Sourcebook (Fordham)
In addition to direct links to documents, links are made to a number of other web resources.
African Online Digital Library (AODL)
"A portal to multimedia collections about Africa" created by the African Studies Center at Michigan State University in partnership with universities and cultural heritage organizations in Africa

Slavery and the Slave Trade

Slave Voyages
Contains "information on almost 36,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries." Search by many different criteria, or browse the map and timeline.
Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection
Cornell University Library's collection contains over 10,000 rare pamphlets and leaflets gathered by Reverend Samuel Joseph May. Includes "Sermons, position papers, offprints, local Anti-Slavery Society newsletters, poetry anthologies, freedmen's testimonies, broadsides, and Anti-Slavery Fair keepsakes"
Slave Biographies: The Atlantic Database Network
"an open access data repository of information on the identities of enslaved people in the Atlantic World. It includes the names, ethnicities, skills, occupations, and illnesses of individual slaves."

CONTACT

Blough-Weis Library

514 University Avenue

Selinsgrove, PA 17870

library@susqu.edu | 570.372.4160

FOLLOW US

LIBRARY COLLECTIONS

Give us Money

Send Us Feedback | © Blough-Weis Library | LibApps Login