Skip to main content

Cell Biology and Genetics: Interlibrary Loan--It's Fast & It's Free!!

Using ILL

 

LAST, BUT NOT LEAST, INTERLIBRARY LOAN.  

It is a service whereby the library will borrow material from other libraries for you.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN IS FREE.  DO NOT HESITATE TO USE IT FOR ANY OF YOUR CLASSES, FOR ANY TYPE OF MATERIAL—BOOKS, ARTICLES, GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS, EVEN MOVIES!

IT DOES, HOWEVER, TAKE TIME (ANYWHERE FROM A DAY TO WEEKS)  SO DO NOT PROCRASTINATE!!!!!!!!!!

 

The first time you use interlibrary loan you must register (you may have done that in Perspectives) 

In the BWL databases: if full-text is NOT available in the database you are using you should seeFull Text Finder

This will:

  • link you to databases that do have full-text

OR

  • indicate that the material is in the BWL collections (print, microfilm, microfiche)

OR

  • link you to an interlibrary loan form (the form is automatically filled in.  All you need to do is click on SUBMIT)

 

               

 

To find books on your topic search the BWL catalog and WorldCat.  

In  WorldCat  Full Text Finder appears when you click on the title of a work that the BWL doesn't own.  Click on it to link to an interlibrary loan form.    ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION WILL AUTOMATICALLY BE TRANSFERRED TO THE FORM.  (If you use Google  you will need to enter the required information on a form;  if you have followed the directions  to save Susquehanna as one of your libraries in Google Scholar all of the required information will automatically be transferred to the form.)

When ILL material arrives you will be notified via e-mail (books will be available for pick up  at the Service Desk). Instructions for accessing the articles online will be e-mailed to you.