Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Congressional and other Government Information & Documents
The best place to find to most Congressional and other government documents is govinfo
Govinfo has the following documents and information:
- Legislative, Executive, and Judicial content:
- Bills and Statutes, congressional committee materials, and proceedings of Congress
- Presidential and regulatory materials
- Opinions from more than 100 U.S. courts
- New content daily- Congressional Record, Federal Register, House and Senate Calendars
- Curated collections- Nancy Reagan tribute, documents related to the sinking of the Titanic
- Digitized historical content- oldest dates back to 1849
- High-profile publications- 9-11 Report, Post JFK Assassination Audio, Warren Commission Report and Hearings, Financial Crisis Inquiry Report, Nixon’s Watergate Grand Jury Testimony, and landmark legislation: Civil Rights Act and Obamacare
Govinfo is replacing FDsys. Most information has been migrated to the new platform.
If you do not find your document here, try the other links below.
Helps you track issues/bills in Congress as well as the actions of any representative.
United States Code This link opens in a new window
Federal laws are passed by Congress and then organized by subject into the United States Code.
Find U.S. Departments and Agencies
Many departments and agencies maintain documents and other information on their websites.
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Search tool for finding government publications with links to those available electronically.
As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web.
demographics, population, housing statistics; pulled from various census reports; available at the city/town/zipcode level
Provides public access to political process through streaming and archiving video, audio, and commentary on elections, congress, and other public affairs topics. Use the C-SPAN Archives
to find every C-SPAN program aired since 1987.
Video Feeds from the U.S. House of Representatives Floor
The U.S. House of Representatives offers streaming video feeds of the House Floor Proceedings dating back to the beginning of the 111th Congress.
Presidential Recordings Program
Between 1940 and 1973, six American presidents from both political parties—Franklin Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson, and Nixon—secretly recorded on tape just under 5,000 hours of their meetings and telephone conversations. Find transcripts and audio of these recordings here.
The Federal Register publishes documents created from the rule-making activities of government agencies. This government site provides easy access to recent articles in the Federal Register.
On Regulations.gov, you can find and comment on proposed regulations and related documents published by the U.S. Federal government.
Books To Get Started
The Encyclopedia of the United States Congress by
Call Number: JK1067 .E63 1995
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
Landmark Decisions of the United States Supreme Court by
Call Number: KF4549 .F56 2003
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions by
Call Number: KF4548.5 .O97 2009
Publication Date: 2009-03-11
Atlas of American Politics, 1960-2000 by
Call Number: G1201.F1 A8 2002
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Need a Specific Report or Document?
Sometimes the easiest way to find a government document is using Google.
- Search the exact name of the report in quotes.
- If needed, narrow your search by using the author of the report or year of publication if known.
- Not finding your document? Search Worldcat and then request through interlibrary loan.
US Government Diagram
Click image to view larger.
C-Span Video Archive
"The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 170,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives"