Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Researching Elections and Political Parties
Here you will find links to popular sources for researching topics on elections and political parties.
To find articles and books on this topic, also use the tabs on this page for
Photo from "I Do Solemnly Swear . .": Presidential Inagurations from the Library of Congress.
Election Information and Statistics
American National Election Studies
Data from surveys of voting, public opinion, and political participation.
American Rhetoric: Online Speech Bank
Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events.
Apportionment Date from the U.S. Census Bureau
Apportionment is the process by which the 435 seats in the House of Representatives are divided among the states based on popularion. The Census Bureau's interactive map
(see bottom of that page) enables users to view 10 decades of apportionment history.
Campaign Ad Archive
Archive of campaign ads from 1994-present from Stanford's Political Communication Lab.
Searchable data on Presidential, Congressional, and state office campaign contributions.
Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
Maps and data on presidential polling and election results.
The Living Room Candidate
Contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952.
Mayoral Election Results
From the U.S. Conference of Mayors
Politics and policy news.
NCSL: Elections& Campaigns
National Conference of State Legislatures provides information on state legislation affecting elections.
Official Vote Counts
Since 1920, the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives has collected and published the official vote counts for federal elections from the official sources among the various states and territories.
Tracks the influence of money on U.S. politics.
A demographic/geographic breakdown of the nation into 12 different kinds of communities.
Pew Research Center Publications on Politics and Elections
List of Pew Research Center Reports since 2005. Use the topics drop down menu to find reports about specific elections, including Election '12
and Election '08
Presidential Debate Transcripts
Unofficial transcripts of most presidential and vice presidential debates from 1960-present are made available by the Commission on Presidential Debates.
Public Opinion Polls
Collection of resources for finding public opinion polls.
Voting and Registration Data
Information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
The Amazing Apportionment Machine