Blough-Weis Library: Political Science Research Guide: Law & Civil Liberties

Researching Law and Civil Liberties Topics

Here you will find links to popular sources for topics involving law and civil liberties.

end

SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
Search here for working papers and journal articles on many social science topics, including law, political science, and international relations.
more...less...
The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 443,900 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 358,200 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications.
Bill of Rights
Click the link for annotations to see analysis written by the Congressional Research Service.
Legal Information Institute (LII)
Get federal statutes, supreme court opinions, some state laws, and other legal information here.
Google Scholar
Narrow your search to legal documents to search Google Scholar for court cases.
U.S. Constitution
Click the link for annotations to see analysis written by the Congressional Research Service.

United States Code This link opens in a new window
Federal laws are passed by Congress and then organized by subject into the United States Code.

The Oyez Project
Provides audio files of oral arguments as well as other information about current and historic Supreme Court cases.
more...less...
The Oyez Project at Chicago-Kent is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality Tour of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices.
FBI Uniform Crime Reports
Crime statistics.
more...less...
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program was conceived in 1929 by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to meet a need for reliable, uniform crime statistics for the nation. In 1930, the FBI was tasked with collecting, publishing, and archiving those statistics. Today, several annual statistical publications, such as the comprehensive Crime in the United States, are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.

Enter a case name, citation, or topic to find legal cases. Then, limit results to legal documents.