Skip to main content

Business Sources: Citations & Annotations

APA Format

APA format
 

Reference List

--is in alphabetically order by the first word of the citation (even if it's an agency or a database)

--if no author is listed start with the first significant word in the title, then the date

--italicize the title of the work (not the article)

--capitalize only the first word and proper nouns in the title of the article

--APA does not require the database name but Purdue's OWL recommends it

--so... include the database name but not the URL

--do not include the date retrieved if the date is already given for the article; but do include the date retrieved if citation is for a website

In-text Citations

(first word of the citation, date)

(first word of citation, date, section)

 
Annual report-web
Exxon. (2017). 2017 annual report of the Exxon Corporation.  Retrieved 26 June 2017 from http://xxxxxxx 
      (this should be the entire url)
 
Annual report-- database
Exxon. (2017). 2017 annual report of the Exxon Corporation.  Retrieved from Hoover’s Online database
 
10-K Report -- database
Exxon. (2017). Form 10-K 2017.  Retrieved from Hoover’s Online database
 
10-K Report -- SEC website
Arrow International, Inc.. (2017). Form 10-K 2017.  
     Retrieved from SEC EDGAR WEBSITE http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml
 
Trade publication/magazine article-web
Tobey, J.S. (2014, March 11).  Keurig Green Mountain:  Time to double up. Forbes.com. Retrieved
     from http://www.forbes.com/sites
 
Trade publication/magazine article -- database
Summer, N. (2014, April 14). Keurig throws cold water on short sellers. Business Week, 14(4374), 
     pp.41-42. Retrieved from Business Source Complete database  
 
Newspaper article-- database
Strom, S. (2014, April 9). Coffee and tea company to start selling recyclable single-serving pods.  The 
     New York Times (Late edition-Final), p.3. Retrieved from Lexis-Nexis Academic database 
Newspaper Article—web
Brody, J.E. (2007, December 11).  Mental reserves keep brain agile.  The New York Times.  Retrieved 
    from http://www.nytimes.com
 
Entire website
Keurig Green Mountain, Inc. (2016). Keurig. Retrieved 26 June 2016 from http://www.keurig.com
 
Section of a website
Brown, A. (2014, March 3). Forbes billionaires: Full list of the richest Americans.  Forbes.com.  
     Retrieved from http://www.forbes.com

 
MarketLine 
SWOT Analysis
MarketLine. (2015, April 6). Starbucks Corporation {SWOT analysis}. Retrieved from 
     MarketLine database  

 
Company Profile
MarketLine. (2014, September 19). Company Profile: Apple Inc. Retrieved from MarketLine database.
 
Industry Profile
MarketLine. (19 October 2017).  Industry Profile: United States: Aerospace & Defense. Retrieved 
     from MarketLine database
 
Hoover’s
Company Profile
Hoover’s. (2015). General Motors Co.  Retrieved from Hoover’s Online database
 
Industry Profile
Hoover’s. (2017). Retail Sector.  Retrieved from Hoover’s Online database
 
Business Source Complete  (use the “cite” tool when you retrieve the entry)
Industry Profile
Automobile Industry Snapshot. (2017). FRPT- Automobile Snapshot, 1-25
 
Market Research Reports
The 2016 global light vehicle door modules report - forecasts to 2031. (2017). Aroq - Just-Auto, 1-30
 
Mintel
Mintel. (2008, December). Breakfast foods: the consumer - US. 
     Retrieved from Mintel database 
 
Bloomberg
Bloomberg L.P. (2006). Stock price graph for United Parcel Service 11/1/05 to 11/1/06. Retrieved from 
    Bloomberg database
 
Statista 
Advertising Age. (n.d.). eBay's advertising spending in the United States from 2012 to 2016 
    (in million U.S. dollars).  Retrieved from Statista - The Statistics Portal
 
 
 
additional examples:

Michigan State--Citing Business Sources APA  (excellent, thorough, lots of examples)

How To Cite Electronic Information  (UMD)

or go to the source:

APA style

APA Citations

Annotations

Academic Writing: Annotated Bibliography--Writer's Handbook   University of Wisconsin -- Madison  You can scroll down to the description for the combination bibliography

Cornell-- How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography

               

  SU has received permission from

Olin Library Reference
Research & Learning Services

Cornell University Library
Ithaca, NY, USA

to reproduce it and adapt it for our use. 

Common APA Citation Examples for List of References

For full style rules and formatting, see the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, which is available at the service desk for in-library use.  

Source Type  General Format Example
Article from a database (paginated by volume)
Author(s) last name, first initial, middle initial. (Year) Article Title. Journal Title, Volume#(Include Issue# only if pagingated by issue), pages. doi:#

**If no doi#, include instead: Retrieved from database name (unique article#).
DeLaet, D. L., & Caufield, R. P. (2008). Gay marriage as a religious right: Reframing the legal debate over gay marriage in the United States. Polity, 40, 297–320. doi:10.2307/40213478
Article in a print journal (paginated by issue)
Author(s) last name, first initial, middle initial. (Year) Article title. Journal Title, Volume#(Include Issue# only if pagingated by issue), pages.
Hasan, R. (1981). The role of woman as agents of change and development in Pakistan. Human Rights Quarterly, 3(3), 68–75.
Article in an online magazine or newspaper
Author(s) last name, first initial, middle initial. (Full Date) Article title. Publication Title, Volume#(Include Issue# only if pagingated by issue), pages. doi:#

**If no doi#, include instead: Retrieved from URL or journal homepage.
Rich, N. (2012, November 28). Can a jellyfish unlock the secret of immortality? The New York Times. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/2012/12/02/magazine/can-a-jellyfish-unlock-the-secret-of-immortality.html
Book   
Author(s) last name, first initial, middle initial. (Year of publication).  Book title. City of Publication: Publisher.  
Stein, L. L. (2006). Speech rights in America: the First Amendment, democracy, and the media. Urbana: University of Illinois Press.
Book/film review
Review author last name, first initial, middle initial. (Full date of publication) Title of Review [Review of the book Book Title, by Author/Director. Periodical Title Volume#(Include Issue# only if pagingated by issue), pages. doi:# (or Database# or URL)
Tanner, D. E. (2010, August) The immortal life of Henrietta Lacks [Review of the book The immortal life of Henreitta Lacks]. Journal of Popular Culture 43,  916–918. doi:10.1111/j.1540-5931.2010.00776_11.x
Article or chapter in an edited book
Author(s) last name, first initial, middle initial. (Year of publication). Selection title. In Editor name (Ed.), Book title (pp. pages). City of Publication: Publisher. 
Hayes, D. (2010) Parties and the media: Getting messages to voters."  In J.M. Stonecash, New directions in American political parties (pp. 44-62). New York: Routledge.
Document from a website
Author(s) of document last name, first initial, middle initial. (Full date or n.d.) Title of the document. Retrieved from URL
Miller, C. (n.d.) Homemade fermented sauerkraut. Retreived from http://www.thefamilyhomestead.com/
homemadekraut.htm

Library Liaison for Management

Alexandrea Glenn (She/Her/Hers)'s picture
Alexandrea Glenn (She/Her/Hers)