Blough-Weis Library: Primary Sources: History--North America

General

AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
American Memory (Library of Congress)
Digital archive of digital images, audio, video and web content related to U.S. history
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Discovering American Women's History Online
Digital collection of primary sources.
more...less...
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century.
Documenting the American South (DocSouth)
DocSouth provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture. It supplies teachers, students, and researchers at every educational level with a wide array of titles they can use for reference, studying, teaching, and research.
fold3
Fold3 provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. Not all documents are available for free.

Founders Early Access
The Rotunda Founders Early Access project makes available for the first time thousands of unpublished documents from our nation’s founders in a free online resource.

Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress
Highlights collections at the Library of Congress that illuminate the life of Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865), the sixteenth president of the United States. The Abraham Lincoln Papers housed in the Manuscript Division contain approximately 20,000 items including correspondence and papers accumulated primarily during Lincoln's presidency.
Valley of the Shadow
A digital archive of primary sources that document the lives of people in Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania, during the era of the American Civil War. Here you may explore thousands of original documents that allow you to see what life was like during the Civil War for the men and women of Augusta and Franklin.
Making of America
Primary sources in American history.
more...less...
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Slave Voyages
Contains "information on almost 36,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries." Search by many different criteria, or browse the map and timeline.
Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection
Cornell University Library's collection contains over 10,000 rare pamphlets and leaflets gathered by Reverend Samuel Joseph May. Includes "Sermons, position papers, offprints, local Anti-Slavery Society newsletters, poetry anthologies, freedmen's testimonies, broadsides, and Anti-Slavery Fair keepsakes"
Slave Biographies: The Atlantic Database Network
"an open access data repository of information on the identities of enslaved people in the Atlantic World. It includes the names, ethnicities, skills, occupations, and illnesses of individual slaves."