Blough-Weis Library: Healthcare Studies Research Guide: Journal Articles

Find Journal Articles

BioOne

Search full-text of articles in scholarly biology journals. Click for video tutorial on searching BioOne.

ScienceDirect®

Search full-text articles on biology and other topics in the sciences and social science. Click for video tutorial on searching ScienceDirect.

Use the button to find the full text of articles available at SU or to request from another library.

Or search the library's entire collection or try a search in Google Scholar:

Set library preferences to SU to use the button to link to articles available through the library. See instructions below.

You can request articles not available on the web through interlibrary loan to have them delivered to you by email.

Use the links listed below to find even more articles on health care topics.

PubMED (MEDLINE)
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

1965-present
Citations/abstracts for thousands of records in medicine, dentistry, nursing and psychology.
JSTOR
Use the advanced search to narrow your search to 240 biology journals and 96 philosophy journals.

Medical Evidence Matters Archive
Locate medical studies about the success rates of specific treatments to medical conditions.

PsycARTICLES

Over 153,000 full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals published by the APA (American Psychological Association).
PsycINFO

Over three million journal and book records from as far back as the 1600's. Compiled by the APA.

Citations/abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, reports in psychology and related fields
ATLA Religion

Search here if your topic deals with religion.

1949-present
More than 1 million citations from international titles and multi-author works in religion; includes citations to essays and book reviews
Philosopher's Index
Citations/abstracts to articles in philosophy journals and books in English and other languages covering all aspects of philosophy--aesthetics, axiology, education, epistemology, ethics, history, language, religion, logic, metaphysics, political philosophy, philosophical anthropology, etc

Citations/abstracts to articles in philosophy journals and books in English and other languages covering all aspects of philosophy--aesthetics, axiology, education, epistemology, ethics, history, language, religion, logic, metaphysics, political philosophy, philosophical anthropology, etc.

ProQuest Central
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities
America: History and Life

Search here for topics with a historical aspect involving American or Canadian history.

1910-present
Citations/abstracts for scholarly journals, books, dissertations covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
Historical Abstracts

Search here for topics with a historical aspect (excluding American and Canadian history).

1971-present
Citations/abstracts to articles in scholarly journals, books, and dissertations covering world history and culture from 1450 to the present (does not include U.S. and Canadian history)
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

1842-present
Citations to articles and reviews from over 500 journals dealing with the the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700)
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Use a Google Scholar search to link to many articles available freely on the web or through the library. You can request articles not available on the web through interlibrary loan to have them delivered to you by email.

Set up Google Scholar to link to articles available at SU (SU Full Text) by: