Blough-Weis Library: Guide for Students Enrolled in Online Courses: Getting Started with Research

Be sure you know your SU user ID and password. It is required to access online resources from off campus. If you have a problem with your SU user ID and password, contact the IT HELP DESK at 570-372-4502. See the Help Desk hours here: https://www.susqu.edu/campus-life/student-and-campus-services/information-technology-and-helpdesk

If you have a problem accessing library materials from off-campus, please contact Robert Gessner at gessnerr@susqu.edu

Librarians are here to help!

2021 Summer Session Library Hours:

Monday - Friday To Be Announced
Closed Saturday and Sunday
Closed Memorial Day and Independence Day

Research Guides

Click on Research & Subject Guides at the Library homepage to access subject guides that will direct you to the best databases, books, websites, etc. in that discipline.

Citations & Bibliographies

Remember--you MUST cite the sources that you use. Within most guides there is a link to citation formats.There is a Citations and Bibliographies Research Guide that lists many different styles and examples of each. Your professor will recommend a citation style (if he or she doesn't, ask!).

Online Resources--Ebooks (full-text online)

EBook Collections

EBooks contain overviews of topics, historical context, and/or different aspects of a topic. You don't necessarily have to read an entire book to get the information you need. Once you have accessed the book you can:

scan the table of contents,
browse the index,
or use the search box to search inside the book

Note that our EBook collections contain 2 reference collections. Use encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc., in those collections for a quick overview of a topic, plus names, places, dates to get you started.

Other Catalogs

WorldCat (WorldCat.org)
All material cataloged by OCLC member libraries including: books, manuscripts, websites and Internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers and videotapes. Includes nearly 200 million records.

Access PA
A catalog and resource sharing guide to the holdings of over 2,700 Pennsylvania library collections.
Google Books
Comprehensive list of full-text books.
HathiTrust Digital Library
The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations.

Online Resources--Articles in magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers

General Databases
General databases index and retrieve full-text articles from hundreds of popular magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers, covering all subjects. Each database has some unique titles so don't stop at just one. If full-text is not available, click on the link to "get full text."
Recommended: ProQuest Central
Subject-specific Databases
To access subject-specific databases click the link above. From the drop down menu select the subject relevant to your class or research. Or you can go to a Research & Subject Guide for a recommendation.

Films

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Use a Google Scholar search to link to many articles available freely on the web or through the library. You can request articles not available on the web through interlibrary loan to have them delivered to you by email.

You can customize Google Scholar to link to full-text in Susquehanna's databases and to our interlibrary loan forms.

Google Scholar→Settings→Library Links→type Susquehanna University, search, check boxes. Save