Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Winter Session Research Guide: Getting Started with Research

Help is here!

Be sure you know your SU user ID and password. It is required  to access online resources from off campus. 
Click here for instructions to access library resources from off campus.

During the winter session, a Librarian is available when the Library is open. 

  • Click here for a complete list of library hours.
  • Click here to find your Librarian.
  • Click here for online tutorials to help with the research process.

If you have problems or questions about Blackboard, contact Marie Hassinger at hassinger@susqu.edu.  Email will be checked periodically every day except December 25 and January 1. 
Please allow 24 hours for a response.  

If you have a problem with your SU user ID and password, contact the IT Help Desk.

IT Help Desk Hours:

  • Monday - Friday 7:30 a.m. to noon and 1 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. 

IT Help Desk is Closed:

  • Dec. 22 through Jan. 2.  While closed there is an emergency after-hours support to report system-wide outages. 570-372-4502 or helpdesk@susqu.edu.  

     

Research Guides

Research  & Subject Guides access subject guides that will direct you to the best databases, books, websites, etc. in that discipline.  

 

Citations & Bibliographies

Remember--you MUST cite the sources that you use. Within most guides there is a link to citation formats.There is a Citations and Bibliographies Research Guide that lists many different styles and examples of each. Your professor will recommend a citation style (if he or she doesn't, ask!).

Films

Online Resources--Articles in magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers

  • Subject-specific Databases

To access subject-specific databases click here . From the drop down menu select the subject relevant to your class or research.  You can also go to a Research & Subject Guide for a recommendation.  

 

Google Scholar

You can customize Google Scholar to link to full-text in Susquehanna's databases and to our interlibrary loan forms.

Google Scholar→Settings→Library Links→type Susquehanna University, search, check boxes.  Save

Online Resources--Ebooks (full-text online)

The EBook collections available at SU contain overviews of topics, historical context, and/or different aspects of a  topic.  You don't necessarily have to read an entire book to get the information you need.  Once you have accessed the book you can:

  • scan the table of contents,
  • browse the index,
  • or use the search box to search inside the book

Note that our EBook collections contain 2 reference collections.  Use encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc., in those collections for a quick overview of a topic,  plus names, places, dates to get you started.

  • EBSCOhost Our EBSCOhost ebooks include two collections totaling more than 137,000 titles.
  • ebrary The ebrary collection currently includes more than 120,000 titles.
  • Credo Reference  Credo Reference is a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from nearly 400 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference is the ideal place to start any research.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  The reference library includes more than 12,000 online encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.

Other Catalogs