Political Science Guide

• American Community Survey

Data from the American Community Survey.

• Bureau of Economic Analysis

Provides interactive date tables on variety of economic topics.

• Bureau of Labor Statistics

Data on labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

• Canadian Industry Statistics

Presents and analyses industry data on a number of economic indicators using the latest annual data sources from Statistics Canada

• CESSDA (Council of European Social Science Data Archives)

Data collections include European sociological surveys, election studies, longitudinal studies, opinion polls, and census data.

• Country Statistical Yearbooks Online

Links to county-specific statistics. (This is a really great listing. To retrieve more recent editions of some of the titles type the title in a search engine.)

• Data.gov

U.S. Federal Executive Branch datasets.

• Economic Report of the President

Annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.

• Eurostat

European statistics website.

• FRED Economic Data

Online database consisting of more than 55,000 economic data time series from 45 national, international, public, and private sources.

• International Monetary Fund: Data & Statistics

Time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.

• UNdata

Search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system

• World Bank Data

The Data Catalog provides download access to over 8,000 indicators from World Bank data sets.

• CIA World FactBook

Country data including information on geography, people and society, government, economics, military, and transnational issues

• Country Risk and Economic Research 

The Country rating reflects the extent to which a country’s economic, financial, and political outlook influences financial commitments of local companies.

• Country Studies

This website contains the on-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress as part of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Series sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army between 1986 and 1998. Each study offers a comprehensive description and analysis of the country or region's historical setting, geography, society, economy, political system, and foreign policy

• Doing Business in...  

The Doing Business report series includes annual reports going back to 2004, a wide variety of national studies, and a number of special reports dealing with regions or topics. Use the tabs to read report summaries and to download. Additional country and regional reports can be downloaded.

• Eldis  

Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues.

• Legal Information Institute

The section "World Law" has links to individual country's banking laws, sometime monetary policy, etc.