Systems Librarian
Folktales
Folktales, or fairy tales, originated thousands of years ago, told by peasant women during gatherings. These tales, often serious, united communities and depicted heroic adventures, natural phenomena, and celebrations. (Charles E. May. Critical Survey of Short Fiction: Topical Essays. Salem Press, 2012.)
World
Websites
World of Tales by Viktor Andonov
Includes stories from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Americas. Different folktales bear the characteristics of the culture, folklore and customs of the people from which they originated.
Physical Books
The Primitive Reader by Call Number: GR 25 .G7Publication Date: 1965Includes over 250 examples of aboriginal verbal lore - stories, tales, songs, riddles and more - each with an informative introduction
One Hundred Favorite Folktales by Call Number: GR 25 .T5Publication Date: 1974Amongst the one hundred folktales are such familiar tales as The Three Billy-Goats Gruff, Haensel and Gretel, Sleeping Beauty, and some perhaps not so familiar, The Magic Bird, The Goose Girl, and The Pancake.
eBooks
Encyclopedia of Giants and Humanoids in Myth, Legend and Folklore by
Publication Date: 2016Every culture has in its folklore and mythology beings of immense size and strength, as well as other preternatural humanoids great or small who walk among us, serving the divine or fulfilling their own agendas. This book catalogs the lore and legends of more than 1,000 different humanoid species and individual beings, including the Titans, Valkyries, Jotnar, yōkai, biblical giants, elves, ogres, trolls and many more.Encyclopedia of Mythological Objects by
Publication Date: 2020Containing more than one thousand detailed entries on the magical and mythical items from the different folklore, legends, and religions the world over, this encyclopedia is the first of its kind. From Abadi, the named stone in Roman mythology to Zul-Hajam, one of the four swords said to belong to the prophet Mohammed, each item is described in as much detail as the original source material provided.Gods and Goddesses by
Publication Date: 2019Many mythological traditions from around the world seek to explain the origins of the earth, human beings, and the forces of nature. This set examines the stories associated with gods and goddesses: their relationships with each other and with human beings; their faults, foibles, strengths, and special powers.The Story of World Mythologies by
Publication Date: 2017Covering cultures from all over the world from indigenous stories to Classical legendsSuperstitions by
Publication Date: 2020Superstitions: A Handbook of Folklore, Myths, and Legends from Around the World is your definitive reference to the history of superstitions, traditions, myths, and folklore from around the world.
Africa
Websites
African Folktales by Anike Foundation
For several generations, stories from Africa have traditionally been passed down by word of mouth. Usually, the stories are meant to prepare young people for life, and so each story taught a lesson or moral. In the African folktales, the stories reflect the culture where diverse types of animals abound. The animals and birds are often accorded human attributes, so it is not uncommon to find animals talking, singing, or demonstrating other human characteristics such as greed, jealousy, honesty, etc.
Physical Books
- African myths and tales by Call Number: GR 350 .F4Publication Date: 1963An original collection of wonderful stories about men and animals and gods, about supernatural events and everyday happenings, of love, hate, jealousy, trickery, and magic.
West African Folktales by
Call Number: GR 350.3 .W452 1995Publication Date: 2001Readers everywhere and of any age will be both entertained and instructed by these timeless stories--more than 40 tales of human foibles, magic, and nature--representing fifteen countries, including Angola, Nigeria, Cameroon, Gambia, Liberia, Ghana, and Senegal.
Folktales of Egypt by Call Number: GR 355 .E47Publication Date: 1982In this book Hasan M. El-Shamy has gathered the first authentic new collection of modern Egyptian folk narratives to appear in nearly a century. El-Shamy's English translations of these orally presented stories not only preserve their spirit, but give Middle Eastern lore the scholarly attention it has long deserved.
Dinka Folktales by Call Number: GR 360 .D5 D4613ISBN: 0841901384Publication Date: 1974Fascinating collection of stories from the Sudanese Dinka Tribe sourced and translated by Dr Francis Mading Deng, himself the son of a renowned Dinka Chief.
eBooks
Anansi by
Publication Date: 2021West African spider-god Anansi wants all of Sky God's famous stories, but to earn them, he has to outwit several of the animals in his village. It will take all of his cleverness and skills in mischief to pull it off.Old Nyaviyuyi in Performance : Seven Tales From Northern Malawi by
Publication Date: 2017Reading these tales from Northern Malawi readers come close to watching an original performance and the tales and the songs encapsulate the essence of Malawian culture. The authors presentation, using performance directions, allows the reader to see and hear old Nyaviyuyi as she, through word, voice, tone and gesture, mocks nosy wives, and celebrates the devotion of friendship and parental love.
Americas
Physical Books
Afro-American folktales; stories from Black traditions in the New World by Call Number: GR 111 .A47 A38 1985Publication Date: 1985These tales range from the earthy comedy of tricksters to accounts of how the world was created and got to be the way it is to moral fables that tell of encounters between masters and slaves.
Latin American Folktales by Call Number: GR 111 .H57 L37 2002Publication Date: 2001Presents more than one hundred folktales selected from the Hispanic and Indian peoples of Latin America and the Caribbean and includes stories of mischievous tricksters, scheming witches, angels, arrogant aristocrats, humble peasants, and heroes and heroines.
Folktales of Mexico by Call Number: GR 115 .P36Publication Date: 1970Eighty-five brief tales, legends, and anecdotes reveal the proud folk tradition of the Mexican people
Brazilian Folktales by Call Number: GR 133 .B6 A435 2006Publication Date: 2006A rich brew of more than 40 traditional Brazilian tales--from creation stories and stories of enchantment to animal and trickster tales--draws on the varied cultural traditions of indigenous peoples, people of African descent, those of European (and particularly Portuguese) descent, and mixtures of these groups.
Folktales of Chile by Call Number: GR 133 .C5 P53ISBN: 9780226668734Publication Date: 1968A collection of Chilean folktales about animals and other stories
Legends of Hawaii by Call Number: GR 385 .H3 C64Publication Date: 1937Nineteen bright and charming fairy tales of Hawaii have been skillfully retold by this gifted storyteller. Padraic Colum brings to them a rare feeling for the things of the imagination, and he tells them with poetry, imagery, and enchantment.
eBooks
Raven the Trickster by
Publication Date: 2021In the Northwest Coast region of North America, people know Raven the Trickster can change his shape at will. When an old man steals all the light from the world and hides it in a special box, the people need Raven's help.Native American Folklore & Traditions by
Publication Date: 2019From the Mojave Desert to the arctic expanses of Baffin Island, the rituals and traditions of the First Peoples of North America blur the boundaries between myth and reality.This treasury brings together many spectacular tales from Native American folklore.Folk Religion of the Pennsylvania Dutch by
Publication Date: 2018For almost three centuries, the "Pennsylvania Dutch"--descended from German immigrants--have practiced white magic, known in their dialect as Braucherei (from the German "brauchen," to use) or Powwowing. The author, a member of the Pennsylvania Dutch community, describes in detail the practices, culture and history of faith healers and witches.American Myths, Legends, and Tall Tales by
Publication Date: 2016A fascinating survey of the entire history of tall tales, folklore, and mythology in the United States from earliest times to the present, including stories and myths from the modern era that have become an essential part of contemporary popular culture.Salish Myths and Legends by
Publication Date: 2008Salish Myths and Legends features an array of Trickster stories centered on Coyote, Mink, and other memorable characters, as well as stories of the frightening Basket Ogress, accounts of otherworldly journeys, classic epic cycles such as South Wind's Journeys and the Bluejay Cycle, tales of such legendary animals as Beaver and Lady Louse from the beginning of time, and stories that explain why things are the way they are.Folk Tales, Tall Tales, Trickster Tales, and Legends of the Supernatural from the Pinelands of New Jersey by
Publication Date: 2010This annotated collection presents a unique corpus of over 400 traditional tales, collected by North America's most distinguished scholar of Folk Studies. It includes anecdotes, historical and aetiological tales, legends (including the tales of the Jersey Devil), and tall tales.
Asia
Physical Books
Folktales of India by Call Number: GR 305 .F65 1987Publication Date: 1999Bringing together nearly one hundred tales translated from fourteen languages, Folktales of India opens the vast narrative world of Indian folklore to readers of English.
The Demon King and Other Festival Folktales of China by Call Number: GR 335 .H363 1995Publication Date: 1995The festival folktales in this collection take readers of all ages on a fascinating journey to the remote villages of the Dai, Xizang, Miao, and Hani, four minority groups of southwest China.
Ancient Tales in Modern Japan by Call Number: GR 340 .A5 1985Publication Date: 1985Ancient Tales in Modern Japan makes available for the first time in English a unique collection of Japanese folk tales.
eBooks
Chinese Children's Favorite Stories by
Publication Date: 2020Chinese Children's Favorite Stories is a delightful selection of thirteen Chinese folktales as retold by author and illustrator Mingmei Yip.
Folk Tales from Japan by Publication Date: 2020From singing turtles and flying farmers to a weeping dragon and rice bags that replenish themselves, readers of all ages will find engaging characters and moments of magic in these beloved Japanese folk tales.Folktales from the Arabian Peninsula by
Publication Date: 2015A unique compilation of stories, Folktales from the Arabian Peninsula includes tales from seven countries: Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.Indian Fairy Tales by
Publication Date: 2012A classic collection of fantastic fairy tales drawn from the rich folklore of India and its neighbour countries.Japanese Myths, Legends and Folktales by
Publication Date: 2019Here, beautifully illustrated and presented in both English and Japanese, are 12 of the best Japanese folktales--shared with generation after generation of Japanese children.Korean Folk Tales : Imps, Ghosts and Fairies by
Publication Date: 2020A collection of 53 interesting short essays, including Korean ancient folk legends, customs beliefs and fables.
Ancient Korean materials depict the deep-rooted tradition and spirit of the people of the country as a book.The biographical notes that go with the stories are taken very largely from “Korea’s Record of Famous Men.”Myths and Legends of China by
Publication Date: 2009The West's first encounters with the folk tales and myths of the East proved to be a heady experience, as they were based on an entirely different value system and worldview than those that are reflected in the Greek myths and most subsequent Western folk tales. In Myths and Legends of China, author E.T.C. Werner offers up a rich tapestry of Chinese folk narratives. A must-read for fans of world myths, fairy tales, and legends.Samak the Ayyar : A Tale of Ancient Persia by
Publication Date: 2021The adventures of Samak, a trickster-warrior hero of Persia's thousand-year-old oral storytelling tradition, are beloved in Iran. This is the first complete English-language version of a treasure of world culture. The translation is grounded in the twelfth-century Persian text while paying homage to the dynamic culture of storytelling from which it arose.The Stories Behind the Poses : The Indian Mythology That Inspired 50 Yoga Postures by
Publication Date: 2022A beautifully written introduction to Indian mythology, join storyteller, scholar and teacher, Dr Raj Balkaran, and explore the unforgettable tales behind 50 key yoga posesThai Children's Favorite Stories by
Publication Date: 2019In captivating text and illustrations, this beautiful multicultural children's book presents a collection of cherished fables, myths, legends and fairy tales from Thailand that have been passed down through generations of Thai families.
Europe
Physical Books
Yiddish Folktales by
Call Number: GR 98 .Y52 1988Publication Date: 1988In the 1920s and 1930s, the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research sent young ethnographers out into the small towns and villages of eastern Europe to collect the stories of their people. Here, published for the first time, is the groundbreaking collection.
Irish Folktales by Call Number: GR 153.5 .I75 1985Publication Date: 1997125 magnificent folktales collected from anthologies and journals published from the mid-nineteenth century to the present day. Beginning with tales of the ancient times and continuing through the arrival of the saints in Ireland in the fifth century, the periods of war and family, the Literary Revival championed by William Butler Yeats, and the contemporary era.
The Seven Swabians, and Other German Folktales by Call Number: GR 166 .A58 2006Publication Date: 2005Using primary German-language sources, Altmann has gleaned a wonderful assortment of authentic tales to enchant and educate audiences of all ages.
The Snow Maiden and Other Russian Tales by Call Number: GR 203.17 .M37 2004ISBN: 1563089998Publication Date: 2004In this delightful collection, you'll find more than 30 Russian tales--animal tales, fairy tales, tales of everyday life, and tales of spirits and the supernatural.
Folktales of Norway by Call Number: GR 221 .C5 1973ISBN: 0226105091Publication Date: 1964Christiansen isolated some seventy-seven legend types, and many of these are represented here in absorbing stories of St. Olaf, hidden treasures, witches, and spirits of the air, water, and earth. The translation is excellent, retaining the traditional Norwegian style.
eBooks
Ancient Legends, Mystic Charms and Superstitions of Ireland by
Publication Date: 2021This collection contains over 100 of these enthralling tales, from fairies stealing children to leprechauns promising gold. Each showcase the strange and mystical superstitions spread by Irish peasantry in the ancient tongue.Animals, Beasties and Monsters of Scotland by
Publication Date: 2019The stories in this book are of animals, beasties and monsters that are fast and cunning and scary and big.English Fairy Tales by
Publication Date: 2013Written in 1889, this is a delightful volume of English Fairy Tales.Icelandic Folk Tales by
ISBN: 9780750996310Publication Date: 2020Iceland is a country where stories are as important as history. Some of the stories in this collection are classic Icelandic tales, while others are completely new to English translation.Inari Sámi Folklore by
Publication Date: 2019Collected in the 1880s from nearly two dozen storytellers from the arctic Aanaar (Inari) region of northeast Finland, the material reveals a complex web of social relations that existed both inside and far beyond the community.Jewish Folk Tales in Britain and Ireland by
Publication Date: 2020In this book of folk tales, Liz Berg shares Jewish memories: authentic tales, songs and jokes told by Jews in Britain and Ireland, all incorporating the wit and magic of a rich and varied culture successfully integrated into Britain and Ireland.Myths and Legends of Ancient Greece and Rome by
Publication Date: 2013A comprehensive collection of all the major and minor gods of Rome and Greece, with descriptions of festivals and retellings of major mythological stories.Norse Mythology : Tales of the Gods, Sagas and Heroes by
Publication Date: 2020The myths and legends of the Norseman have entertained the young and old for hundreds of years. Collated here in this thrilling treasury, these tales will transport you to the magical realms of Asgard, Midgard and Jötunheim.Russian Fairy Tales by
Publication Date: 2014For fans of folklore and mythology, this comprehensive volume offers the best of both worlds: an astute introduction to and overview of the common themes and motifs in Russian fairy tales, plus an eclectic collection of charming and enchanting fables, stories, and vignettes.
