Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Sources: Research Insight

READ THIS FIRST!!

RESEARCH INSIGHT is a Standard & Poor’s software product available on the computers in IT labs and in the Library.
It contains 2 databases each containing some unique data:
COMPUSTAT contains access to data for over 21,000 companies
GLOBAL contains data on 15,000 publicly quoted companies, including 12,000 non‐US companies.

If RESEARCH INSIGHT is on a computer it can be accessed at START→All Programs→RESEARCH INSIGHT
The opening menu appears.
Close it and choose the appropriate database: Databases (at the top); go to default database, choose the database you need. Click on OK.  Retrieve the opening menu by clicking on the "handshake" icon.

Company Information

For company information (balance sheets, comparative financials, comparative ratios (B2B, B2I):
1. At the opening menu ("handshake" icon) go to Research Assistant
2. Click on look up
3. Type name of company
4. Highlight the name of the company in the list
5. Click on paste
6. Click on close (the GVKey number identifying the company should appear in the companies box in GLOBAL database)
7. Click on next, click on next again
8. Click on the bullet next to open report
9. Click on next
10. A list of reports will appear. Click on + sign next to yellow icon to open a list of reports
11. Highlight a report
12.Click on finish

Retrieve a List of Companies in the Same Industry

1. At the opening menu ("handshake" icon) go to Research Assistant
2. Click on look up
3. Type name of company
4. Highlight the company's name
5. Click on paste,then click on close
6. Choose GCIS sub‐industry in the box labeled “Find Similar Companies”

7. Click on next, then click on next

8. Click on the bullet next to open report
9. Click on next
10. Click on the + sign next to yellow icon to open list of reports
11. Highlight a report
12. Click on finish

Company to Company Comparative Data

1.Go to Research Assistant
2.Click on Change set
3.Click on Look‐up
4.Scroll to your set
5.Highlight
6.Click on paste, then close

7. Then click on ok, then click on next
8.Click on next
9.Click on the bullet next to open report
10.Click on next
11.Open the Comparative Reports
12.Highlight the needed report
13.Click on finish
14.Click on ok
15.Click on ok

Converting Currency

To convert currency (available only in GLOBAL Vantage):

You must choose a company and competitors (using Research Assistant), then open a report.

When you have chosen a report:
1.Click on tools at the top
2.Select options
3.Select currency translation
4. Make sure that you have chosen translate into target currency and use the current translation rate
5.Choose appropriate currencies (“descriptions” will identify)
6.Click on apply, then click on ok

7. Then click on ok, then click on ok
8. Refresh the screen by clicking on the “running man” icon at the top of the screen, then ok

Market Share (only in COMPUSTAT)

1.Follow directions for Company Information
2.When choosing a report choose Trend Report→Key Item Trend Report
( market share is listed: note that no source, no date are given)

Company to Industry Comparative Data (available only in COMPUSTAT)

1. Open report

2.Click on Sector and Industry Reports

3.Click on the summary report that you want

4. Click on finish.

In the next window

1. Click on Look Up.

2. Type the name of the company.

3. Click on the highlighted name.

4. Click on paste, close, ok.

Creating your own report

1.Go to the Report Assistant
2.Choose Current Time Period or Historical Analysis
3.Click on next
4.Choose Items Group
5.Highlight items appearing in the box
6.Click on add for each item needed
7.Click on finish

Follow directions for Company Information
8.Type company, sub‐industry or set (change set→scroll→highlight→pastecloseokay)

Exporting to EXCEL


1.Open excel
2.Click on add‐ins in the ribbon
3.Choose S & P
4.The Research Assistant menu should appear
5.Follow steps for searching for Company Information (above)

Saving a Set

1.When you have reports open, right click on the page. Click on run
2.Choose the set tab at the top of page
3. At the save set, choose save
4.Choose a file name, click on save
5.Click on ok
6.Click on “handshake” (at the top) →open report
7.Choose, then highlight the report to open
8.Click on finish
9.Click on change set
10.Click on look‐up
11.Scroll to find your set
12.Highlight your set
13.Click on paste, close, ok, ok