Middle East History Research Links
|
Here are links for sources on Middle East history topics. To find articles and books on this topic, also see the pages for |
|
- Travelers in the Middle East ArchiveThe Travelers in the Middle East Archive (TIMEA) is a digital archive that focuses on Western interactions with the Middle East, particularly travels to Egypt during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
- The Middle East in Early Prints and PhotographsSeveral thousand prints and photographs contained in works from the 17th century to the beginning of the 20th century.
- The Giza ArchivesComprehensive resource for research on Giza. It contains photographs and other documentation from the original Harvard University - Boston Museum of Fine Arts Expedition (1904 to 1947) and other resources.
- Medieval SourcebookCollection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use
- Islamic Heritage ProjectDigital copies of over 280 manuscripts, 275 printed texts, and 50 maps, totaling over 156,000 pages.
- ABZUGuide to open access materials on study of Ancient Near East and Mediterranean.
- Jerusalem Virtual LibrarySearchable digitized historical materials and primary sources about Jerusalem.
- The Recognition of the State of IsraelThe Truman Library's collection of documents.
- UN Information System on the Question of PalestineUNISPAL contains largely the English texts of over 30,000 United Nations documents.
- RAMBIIndex of articles in Jewish Studies.
- Expeditions and DiscoveriesDelivers maps, photographs, and published materials, as well as field notes, letters, and a unique range of manuscript materials on selected expeditions between 1626 and 1953. Browse by region/country.
- Archive of Turkish Oral NarrativeSearchable collection of oral narratives translated by native Turkish speakers.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
- World Directory of Minorities & Indigenous PeoplesDescribes minority populations organized by country or region and focusing on topics such as gender, education reform, economic development, land/property rights and prevention of conflict/genocide, together with the key area of public participation.
- The Giza ArchivesComprehensive resource for research on Giza. It contains photographs and other documentation from the original Harvard University - Boston Museum of Fine Arts Expedition (1904 to 1947) and other resources.
Country Background Information
- Country Analysis PESTLE Reports: MarketLine AdvantageSearch or browse by country to find reports that analyze the political, economic, social, technological, legal, and environmental (PESTLE) structures there.
Use these links to find background information about a country, including historical information. Or start research using both of the interactive maps below.
- CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Books to get started
- You can also search WorldCat and request books from other libraries.
Here are some encyclopedias or other general books on history of the Middle East available online or at the library.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa by Call Number: REF DS43 .E53 2004ISBN: 0028657691Publication Date: 2004-06-01
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the near East by Call Number: REF DS56 .O9 1997ISBN: 0195065123Publication Date: 1996-11-28
Dictionary of the Ancient Near East by Call Number: REF DS56 .D5 2000ISBN: 0812235576Publication Date: 2000-03-02
The Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars by Call Number: REF DS63.1 .E453 2010ISBN: 9781851099474Publication Date: 2010-11-01
Iraq, 1990-2006 by Call Number: REF DS79.75 .I728 2009ISBN: 0521767768Publication Date: 2009-07-30
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by Call Number: REF DT58 .O94 2000ISBN: 0195102347Publication Date: 2001-01-11
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures by Call Number: REF HQ1170 .E53 2003ISBN: 9004132473Publication Date: 2003-09-01
Biographical Dictionary of Modern Egypt by Call Number: ebookISBN: 1555872298Publication Date: 2000-02-01
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium by Call Number: REF DF521 .O93 1991ISBN: 0195046528Publication Date: 1991-05-02
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World by Call Number: REF DS35.53 .O95 1995ISBN: 0195066138Publication Date: 1995-03-30
