European History Research Links
|
Coronation procession of his majesty George the Fourth, 19th July, 1821 / drawn & etched by W. Heath. Available from library of Congress, LC-DIG-ppmsca-02637. |
|
Here are links to popular sources for researching European history topics. To find articles and books on this topic, also use the tabs on this page for See also other research guides: |
- Medieval SourcebookCollection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use
- European History Primary SourcesEasily searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe.
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European HistorySelect a country to see what types of materials are available.
- KGB Documents OnlineKGB documents from the years of the occupation of the three countries.
- The Harvard project for the Soviet Social System OnlineA digital collection for the study of Soviet society between 1917 and the mid-1940s.
- British History Online"British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles."
- The World War I Document Archive"This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War."
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- Expeditions and DiscoveriesThe fourth in a series of online collections from Harvard University, Expeditions and Discoveries delivers maps, photographs, and published materials, as well as field notes, letters, and a unique range of manuscript materials on selected expeditions between 1626 and 1953. Browse by region/country.
- World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
- World Directory of Minorities & Indigenous PeoplesDescribes minority populations organized by country or region and focusing on topics such as gender, education reform, economic development, land/property rights and prevention of conflict/genocide, together with the key area of public participation.
Country Background Information
- Country Analysis PESTLE Reports: MarketLine AdvantageSearch or browse by country to find reports that analyze the political, economic, social, technological, legal, and environmental (PESTLE) structures there.
Use these links to find background information about a country, including historical information. Or start research using both of the interactive maps below.
- CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Books to get started
Ancient Europe, 8000 B. C. to A. D. 1000 by Call Number: REF D62 .A52 2004ISBN: 0684806681Publication Date: 2003-12-02
Europe 1450 to 1789 by Call Number: REF D209 .E97 2004ISBN: 068431200XPublication Date: 2003-11-19
Chronology of European History, 15,000 B.C. to 1997 by Call Number: REF D11 .C57 1997ISBN: 0893564184Publication Date: 1997
Historical Dictionary of Late Medieval England, 1272-1485 by Call Number: REF DA175 .H56 2002ISBN: 0313291241Publication Date: 2002-03-30
The Russian Revolution, 1905-1921: a bibliographic guide to works in English by Call Number: REF Z2510 .F73 1995ISBN: 031329559XPublication Date: 1995
