Blough-Weis Library: Economics Research Guide: Data / Statistics

Selected Sources for Economic Data

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Provides interactive date tables on variety of economic topics.
FRED Economic Data
Online database consisting of more than 55,000 economic data time series from 45 national, international, public, and private sources.
FedStats
Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Data on labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
more...less...
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.

Statistical Abstracts of the United States This link opens in a new window
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Data.gov
U.S. Federal Executive Branch datasets.
American Community Survey
Data from the American Community Survey.
more...less...
The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing statistical survey that samples a small percentage of the population every year -- giving communities the information they need to plan investments and services.
Economic Report of the President
Annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
CESSDA (Council of European Social Science Data Archives)
Data collections include European sociological surveys, election studies, longitudinal studies, opinion polls, and census data.
more...less...
CESSDA is an umbrella organisation for social science data archives across Europe. Since the 1970s the members have worked together to improve access to data for researchers and students.
UNdata
Search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system
International Monetary Fund: Data & Statistics
Time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.
World Bank Data
The Data Catalog provides download access to over 8,000 indicators from World Bank data sets.
Eurostat
European statistics website.
more...less...
Eurostat was established in 1953 to meet the requirements of the Coal and Steel Community. Over the years its task has broadened and when the European Community was founded in 1958 it became a Directorate-General (DG) of the European Commission. Eurostat’s key role is to supply statistics to other DGs and supply the Commission and other European Institutions with data so they can define, implement and analyse Community policies.
Country Statistical Yearbooks Online
Links to county-specific statistics. (This is a really great listing. To retrieve more recent editions of some of the titles type the title in a search engine.)
Canadian Industry Statistics
Presents and analyses industry data on a number of economic indicators using the latest annual data sources from Statistics Canada.

Additional Websites

Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Country, industry, and risk analysis from The Economist (basic information free, more detailed information $)

CIA World FactBook Country data including information on geography, people and society, government, economics, military, and transnational issues

Doing Business in... The Doing Business report series includes annual reports going back to 2004, a wide variety of national studies, and a number of special reports dealing with regions or topics. Use the tabs to read report summaries and to download. Additional country and regional reports can be downloaded.

Country Studies-This website contains the on-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress as part of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Series sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army between 1986 and 1998. Each study offers a comprehensive description and analysis of the country or region's historical setting, geography, society, economy, political system, and foreign policy

Country Risk and Economic Research The Country rating reflects the extent to which a country’s economic, financial, and political outlook influences financial commitments of local companies.

Legal Information Institute--section "World Law" has links to individual country's banking laws, sometime monetary policy, etc.

Eldis Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues.

Recent Research from FRED

Additional websites

Also...

Ka Neng Au, Business Librarian and creator of the International Business LibGuide at Rutgers University, has given permission to link to his guide and to the extensive list of sources on International Business that he has compiled

LIBRARY HOURS:

OCCUPANCY:

Economics Research Guide

Selected Sources for Economic Data

Additional Websites

Recent Research from FRED

Additional websites

CONTACT

FOLLOW US

LIBRARY COLLECTIONS