Blough-Weis Library: Communications Research Guide: News

Newspaper Search

Finding News

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: News provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.

Proquest News and Newspapers
Search three newspaper databases simultaneously.
Google News Search
Use this search to target news sources indexed by Google. Use the links on the left side of the results to hone in on news from a specific time period.
Newspaper Map
Use this website to locate online newspapers from around the world and translate them into different languages.
IPL's Newspaper Collection
The Internet Public Library has assembled links to hundreds of local newspapers, from the U.S. and abroad, organized by location. This is a great source when researching an event or issue that may have been covered in a small local paper that isn't included in general news databases.
List of Online Newspaper Archives
Wikipedia entry that provides links to many online newspaper archives, from the U.S. and abroad, organized by location.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Using Microfilm

Microfilm is a way to preserve printed material so that it takes up less space and can last for hundreds of years.

If you have the citation information for a historic newpaper or magazine article:

Use the A to Z Publications list to see if it is available at SU in Microfilm.
If we do not have the article, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to have it delivered as a PDF to your email address.

Or, if you have a very specific time period in mind, you can look at the microfilm version of a newspaper or use the index, like the index to the New York Times, to find historic articles on your topic.

LIBRARY HOURS:

OCCUPANCY:

Communications Research Guide

Newspaper Search

Finding News

Using Microfilm

CONTACT

FOLLOW US

LIBRARY COLLECTIONS