Learning Outcomes
You will:
- list characteristics that make a source reliable.
- locate peer-reviewed resources in the library databases.
- paraphrase and cite an idea from one article.
- synthesize and cite an idea across multiple articles.
Types of Sources
What makes a source reliable? List your ideas in the Padlet below. Note: It may be easier to open the Padlet in a separate window.
Databases
Searching for articles:
- ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowERIC covers 1966-present and includes abstracts of educational reports as recorded in the monthly Resources in Education; citations/abstracts for journal articles in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education.
- Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowA complimentrary research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 280 peer-reviewed journals.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Over three million journal and book records from as far back as the 1600's. Compiled by the APA.
Paraphrasing Practice
Before you can synthesize across various articles, you may need to practice how to paraphrase an idea from a single article. Paraphrasing is much harder than using a direct quote, but it demonstrates your critical thinking ability and your understanding of the article's idea. Sometimes, an author says something better than we can, and in that case, it's fine to use a direct quote. Try not to over burden your paper with direct quotes. A literature review section should rely mostly on paraphrasing and synthesizing.
Use these handouts below to practice paraphrasing:
- APA Paraphrasing and Citation ActivitiesThis handout walks you through different levels of paraphrasing. It starts with paraphrasing one sentence and ends with paraphrasing multiple paragraphs. It also helps you practice how to cite when you paraphrase.
- Purdue OWL Paraphrasing ActivityThis activity gives you several passages for practicing paraphrasing.
Synthesizing Explained
Synthesizing is a method of analyzing the main ideas and important information from your sources as you read and prepare to write a literature review. Review the resources below for sample synthesizing methods. Both examples have tables you can fill out as you read articles to help you organize your thoughts.
- Writing a Literature Review and Using a Synthesis Matrix: NC University Tutorial CenterThis method of synthesizing is idea-focused. You group articles based off of their main ideas as they relate to your topic.
- Matrix Example from the University of West Florida LibrariesThis method of synthesizing is article-focused. You break down the individual parts of each article.
