Blough-Weis Library: Legal Studies Research Guide: Cases / Legal Opinions

Finding Legal Cases (Opinions)

Westlaw Campus Research
Westlaw is an online legal research service for lawyers and legal professionals in the United States and the United Kingdom and is a product of Thomson Reuters. In addition, it provides proprietary database services. Information resources on Westlaw include more than 40,000 databases of case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, newspaper and magazine articles, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, legal forms and other information resources. -- Wikipedia
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Use a Google Scholar search to link to many articles available freely on the web or through the library. You can request articles not available on the web through interlibrary loan to have them delivered to you by email.

The Oyez Project
Provides audio files of oral arguments as well as other information about current and historic Supreme Court cases.

more... less...

The Oyez Project at Chicago-Kent is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality Tour of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices.
Cornell Legal information Institute
Supreme Court Case Topics
Supreme Court Landmark Cases
How to read a legal opinion
Brief and useful article about what makes up a legal opinion and how to understand it.