New Books in Anthropology!
Browse for Books at the Library
The Library of Congress (LC) classification for Anthropology begins with the letters GN. LC classification is the system the Blough-Weis library uses to organize books.
You may want to look on the shelf where books on your subject are located in order to see what is available. The general categories for anthropology are listed below:
| Anthropology | GN1-890 |
| Physical anthropology. Somatology | GN49-298 |
| Anthropometry | GN51-59 |
| Human variation | GN62.8-265 |
| Race (General) | GN269-279 |
| Man as an animal. Simian traits versus human traits | GN280.7 |
| Human evolution | GN281-289 |
| Fossil man. Human paleontology | GN282-286.7 |
| Medical anthropology | GN296-296.5 |
| Ethnology. Social and cultural anthropology | GN301-674 |
| Culture and cultural processes | GN357-367 |
| Collected ethnographies | GN378-396 |
| Applied anthropology | GN397-397.7 |
| Cultural traits, customs, and institutions | GN406-517 |
| Technology. Material culture | GN406-442 |
| Economic organization. Economic anthropology | GN448-450.8 |
| Intellectual life | GN451-477.7 |
| Social organization | GN478-491.7 |
| Political organization. Political anthropology | GN492-495.2 |
| Societal groups, ethnocentrism, diplomacy, warfare, etc. | GN495.4-498 |
| Psychological anthropology | GN502-517 |
| Ethnic groups and races | GN537-674 |
| By region or country | GN550-674 |
| Prehistoric archaeology | GN700-890 |
*Please note: these categories, like any system for organizing knowledge, unfortunately, embody the biases of those who created them. LCC was developed in 1the early 1900s and changes to its subject headings happen slowly and gradually over time.
Open Educational Resources in Anthropology
Summary: Shared Voices is a student-centered cultural anthropology mini textbook built with an equity lens. This book attempts to address the lack of current, reliable, and relevant resources for introductory anthropology courses that center equity and anti-racism.
By: Demetrios Brellas (Framingham State U), Vanessa Martinez (Holyoke Community College)
Available: Online at Open Textbook Library
Date: 2024
Books to Get Your Research Started
Use the search box above to find books on your topic in the library.
Below are some encyclopedias and other general books on anthropology available online or at the library.
Anthropology: what does it mean to be human? by
A unique alternative to more traditional, encyclopedic introductory texts, Anthropology: What Does It Mean to Be Human?, Fifth Edition, takes a question-oriented approach that incorporates cutting-edge theory and new ways of looking at important contemporary issues such as power, human rights, and inequality. With a total of sixteen chapters, this engaging, full-color text is an ideal one-semester overview that delves deep into anthropology without overwhelming students.
Call Number: Course Reserve (ask at desk)ISBN: 9780197534434Publication Date: 2021
How to Think Like an Anthropologist by
From an award-winning anthropologist, a lively, accessible, and at times irreverent introduction to the subject What is anthropology? What can it tell us about the world? Why, in short, does it matter? For well over a century, cultural anthropologists have circled the globe, from Papua New Guinea to suburban England and from China to California, uncovering surprising facts and insights about how humans organize their lives and articulate their values. In the process, anthropology has done more than any other discipline to reveal what culture means--and why it matters. By weaving together examples and theories from around the world, Matthew Engelke provides a lively, accessible, and at times irreverent introduction to anthropology, covering a wide range of classic and contemporary approaches, subjects, and practitioners. Presenting a set of memorable cases, he encourages readers to think deeply about some of the key concepts with which anthropology tries to make sense of the world--from culture and nature to authority and blood. Along the way, he shows why anthropology matters: not only because it helps us understand other cultures and points of view but also because, in the process, it reveals something about ourselves and our own cultures, too.
Call Number: GN31.2 .E59 2018ISBN: 9780691178783Publication Date: 2018
Asking Questions about Cultural Anthropology by
Organized around anthropological questions, this contemporary text demonstrates how anthropological thinking can be used as a tool for deciphering everyday experiences. Designed to stimulate students' anthropological imaginations, this concise foundation of cultural anthropology can be enriched by the use of ethnographies, a reader, articles, field-based activities, and more.
Call Number: GN316 .W469 2018ISBN: 9780190878078Publication Date: 2018
Practicing Ethnography: a student guide to method and methodology by
Building on the "studying up" trend in anthropology, this book offers a theoretically informed guide to ethnographic methods that is also practical in approach, and reflects the challenges and concerns of contemporary ethnography. Students draw from vignettes situated within North America to learn how various methods work in the real world, and how ethnography informs contemporary anthropological theory. Exercises and assignments encourage students to practice these methods in a familiar context, and a sustained focus on visual methodologies offers coverage not found in other books. The result is a text that discusses both practical and theoretical issues in contemporary ethnography while equipping students with a set of transferable skills.
Call Number: GN345 .P73 2017ISBN: 9781487593124Publication Date: 2017
21st Century Anthropology: a Reference Handbook by
21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of anthropology ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century. This two-volume set provides undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source that serves their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but in a clear, accessible style, devoid of jargon, unnecessary detail or density.Key Features- Emphasizes key curricular topics, making it useful for students researching for term papers, preparing for GREs, or considering topics for a senior thesis, graduate degree, or career.- Comprehensive, providing full coverage of key subthemes and subfields within the discipline, such as applied anthropology, archaeology and paleontology, sociocultural anthropology, evolution, linguistics, physical and biological anthropology, primate studies, and more.- Offers uniform chapter structure so students can easily locate key information, within these sections: Introduction, Theory, Methods, Applications, Comparison, Future Directions, Summary, Bibliography & Suggestions for Further Reading, and Cross References.- Available in print or electronically at SAGE Reference Online, providing students with convenient, easy access to its contents.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781412957380Publication Date: 2010
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. Combining anthropological theory and ethnography, it includes 275 substantial entries, over 300 short biographies of important figures in anthropology, and nearly 600 glossary items. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780203866474Publication Date: 2010
The SAGE Handbook of Cultural Anthropology by
The SAGE Handbook of Cultural Anthropology is the first instalment of The SAGE Handbook of the Social Sciences series and encompasses major specialities as well as key interdisciplinary themes relevant to the field. Globally, societies are facing major upheaval and change, and the social sciences are fundamental to the analysis of these issues, as well as the development of strategies for addressing them. This handbook provides a rich overview of the discipline and has a future focus whilst using international theories and examples throughout. The SAGE Handbook of Cultural Anthropology is an essential resource for social scientists globally and contains a rich body of chapters on all major topics relevant to the field, whilst also presenting a possible road map for the future of the field. Part 1: Foundations Part 2: Focal Areas Part 3: Urgent IssuesPart 4: Short Essays: Contemporary Critical Dynamics
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781529703870Publication Date: 2021
