Anthropology Research Guide: Websites

The guides to anthropological theories and approaches listed below have been prepared by graduate students of the University of Alabama under the direction of Dr. Michael D. Murphy. As always, !Caveat Retis Viator! (Let the Net Traveller Beware!)

The Folklife Sourcebook is a searchable database of ethnographic resources related to folklife, anthropology, ethnomusicology, and the humanities. It lists museums, archives, public programs, and other organizations, as well as internet-based resources, providing their contact information and links to their web pages.

At the core of the online directory are some 220 of the world’s countries, including dependent territories, and about 700 minorities/indigenous peoples. It also includes an integral database of organisations concerned with minorities (totalling several thousands), and relevant publications and websites (several thousands).

1911-1955
Ad* Access presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

European and American printed advertisements dating from 1790 to 1910. The majority of the collection are trade cards of the late nineteenth century.

The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.

They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.

List of links about a country geared toward legal researchers. Includes links to Constitutions and information about branches of government.

Background information about a country prepared by the U.S. Department of State.