Blough-Weis Library: Sociology Research Guide: News

Finding News

US Newsstream
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
New York Times
Coverage:1980 - current
Google News Search
Use this search to target news sources indexed by Google. Use the links on the left side of the results to hone in on news from a specific time period.
Newspaper Map
Use this website to locate online newspapers from around the world and translate them into different languages.
List of Online Newspaper Archives
Wikipedia entry that provides links to many online newspaper archives, from the U.S. and abroad, organized by location.
A to Z Periodicals List
Want to know if the library has a specific newspaper, magazine, or journal available electronically or in print? Search for the title here. For example, search for New York Times.
Library Catalog Newspaper Search
Search newspaper articles and news items in the library catalog.

Historical News Resources

A source like Newsstream is great for finding news from the 1980s -present, but if you need articles from a different time period, search the links below.

New York Times (1851 to present minus 3 years) : ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
SU Only, 1851 to 2009
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search here and limit by publication date to find articles from journals and magazines from 1890-1982.
1890-1982
Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports on popular topics from 1923-present.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
NewspaperCat: Catalog of Digital Historic Newspapers
The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) is a tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean.
List of Online Newspaper Archives
Wikipedia entry that provides links to many online newspaper archives, from the U.S. and abroad, organized by location.

Journals, Newspapers & Magazines

Journal, Newspapers & Magazine List
Use this link to search for any journals, newspapers or magazines by title or ISSN

Using Microfilm

Microfilm is a way to preserve printed material so that it takes up less space and can last for hundreds of years.

If you have the citation information for a historic newpaper or magazine article:

Use the A to Z Publications list to see if it is available at SU in Microfilm.
If we do not have the article, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to have it delivered as a PDF to your email address.

Or, if you have a very specific time period in mind, you can look at the microfilm version of a newspaper or use the index, like the index to the New York Times, to find historic articles on your topic.

LIBRARY HOURS:

OCCUPANCY:

Sociology Research Guide: News

Finding News

Historical News Resources

Journals, Newspapers & Magazines

Using Microfilm

CONTACT

FOLLOW US

LIBRARY COLLECTIONS